Historic District Commission

-A A +A

Hours of Operation

Monday - Wednesday:  10:00 am to 4:00 pm


Click here to email the Historic District Commission

Meeting Information

When: 3rd Monday of Each Month
Where: Main Level Conference Room
Time: 7:00 pm


(860) 868-0423


(860) 868-2819


Town of Washington
P.O. Box 383
Washington Depot, CT 06794
United States

Municipal historic districts in Connecticut are authorized exclusively through Chapter 97a of the Connecticut General Statutes. Once enacted by the vote of both the legislative body of the municipality and the residents of the proposed district, the district is placed under the jurisdiction of a locally appointed historic district commission. Such a commission is a full fledged land use agency of the town, and exercises powers comparable to the zoning commission, wetlands commission and a zoning board of appeals.

The following are appointed officials with 3-year terms:

Name Title
Tom Hollinger Chair
Jane Boyer Vice Chair
Susan Averill Secretary
Phyllis Mills Regular Member
Sarah Woodroofe Regular Member
Louise Van Tartwijk Alternate
William Fairbairn Alternate
Dimitri Rimsky Alternate

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Joan DeLuca Clerk (860)-868-0423
Syndicate content