Volunteer Fire Department

The Washington Volunteer Fire Department was organized in 1926 with one truck, one building and forty-three charter members.

Today the department has grown to nine pieces of apparatus working out of two stations and sixty active members. Working under a Chief, Two Assistant Chiefs, Captain and two Lieutenants, we are an all volunteer department providing fire protection and First Responder capabilities for a town that encompasses the villages of Washington, Washington Depot, Marbledale, New Preston, and Woodville. There are 4,000 full time residents in the town that covers 38.7 square miles.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Darryl Wright Chief (860) 868-7403
Craig Wilbur 1st Assistant Chief (860) 868-7403
Ethan Labella 2nd Assistant Chief (860) 868-7403
Thomas Osborne Fire Marshal (860) 868-7212
Kevin Smith Captain (860)-868-7403
Chris Cambell 1st Lieutenant
Adam Reule 2nd Lieutenant
Jordon Leach Secretary
Mike Stoughton Treasurer
Mark Showalter President