Local businesses such as plumbers, carpenters, farmers, shop owners, home & professional offices are required by state statute to file personal property declarations every year between October 1st and November 1st. Property to be declared includes furniture, fixtures, office equipment, computers, construction equipment, farm & lawn equipment, vending machines, unregistered motor vehicles, etc. Businesses owning personal property located in Washington, though based elsewhere, must also file. Failure to completely & accurately declare personal property by Nov. 1 carries a 25% penalty.
The Assessor's office mails declaration forms to all businesses which have previously filed. For those who do not receive forms, declarations are available at the Assessor's office in Bryan Memorial Town Hall, or download a copy below.
Business owners must keep a copy of prior year filings. Prior year copies will be provided with 2 days prior written request from the owner or Declaration signer, and identification may be required. Plan to visit the office ahead of the due date if you do not keep your business records, or if you need some time to see the assessor. Office open hours can change.
Declarations with a USPS (United States Postal Service) Nov. 1 post mark are accepted as 'on-time'. Per statute, a Pitney Bowes postmark is not adequate to prevent a Late filing penalty.
Please note that our office can not accept electronic requests (emailed, faxed, etc.) for filing date extension, or the electronic filing of any personal property Declaration. Original Declarations with original ('wet') signatures are required. Duplicates or faxed copies are not accepted. Be sure to allow enough time for your response to be USPS postmarked November 1st. Call 860-868-0398 ahead of due date for further information.
You may also wish to see Am I A Business?
- Personal Property Declaration Long Form
- Personal Property Declaration Short Form
- Unregistered Motor Vehicle Declaration
- Farm Machinery Exemption
Motor vehicles 'garaged' in Washington - whether or not they are un-registered or registered out-of-state, must be declared and are liable for taxation. Failure to completely & accurately declare personal property by Nov. 1 carries a 25 percent penalty.
Please note: the assessor's office prescribes a certain Personal Property declaration format. Other declaration templates may be acceptable, provoided they are similiar to those accessible by links above. Businesses may be required to use the prescribed declaration instead of a template; if template layout is too dissimiliar to the preferred format.