Conservation Commission

The Conservation Commission, an advisory commission appointed by the Board of Selectmen, was created by Town Ordinance #7096, effective January 1, 2000. Its powers and duties are those set forth in Section 7-131a of the Connecticut General Statutes. Per the statute, “Any town … may establish a conservation commission for the development, conservation, supervision and regulation of natural resources, including water resources, within its territorial limit. ... It  may make recommendations to zoning, planning and inland wetlands commissions and other municipal agencies on proposed land use changes.  It may, with the approval of such legislative body, acquire land and easements in the name of the municipality."

The Conservation Commission does not issue permits; it reviews applications referred to it by the other land use commissions.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Karen Gallagher Clerk 860-868-0423


Name Title
Susan Payne Chair
Linda Frank Vice Chair
Diane M. Dupuis Member
Tyler O'Hazo Member
Catherine Rawson Alternate
Susan Branson Member
Ryan Conroy Alternate