The Town of Washington, Connecticut
Open Burning Official
• Gunnar Neilson, Open Burning Official
Here's a copy of the
Open Burning Permit Application
( 1 page)
Check the Forest Fire Danger Report
Check the Air Quality Index
Open burning is allowed in the Town of Washington for brush in certain situations. With the exception of burning in a grill or outdoor fireplace for cooking food or camping, you will need a permit to burn out-of-doors. Open burning rules are dictated by Connecticut General Statutes (Section 22a-174) and by the Department of Environmental Protection regulations (22a-264-17).
To burn brush, call Open Burning Official Gunnar Neilson between 7:30 and 9:00 a.m. (868-0620). Mr. Neilson will provide information you and an Application for a Burning Permit. You may also obtain a Burning Permit application outside the Land Use Office on the lower level of Town Hall. On days Mr. Neilson is unavailable, fill out a Permit application and bring it to the Selectmen's Office (868-2259).
The Permit is valid for the property owner, or agent of the owner, on -- and only on -- the owner's property. A Permit is applicable only for the date and occasion for which it was issued.
Guidelines For Open Burning Of Brush
- The homeowner must sign the permit and is responsible for burning. Facsimile of permit, signed within 48 hours prior to permit date will be accepted. (Fax #: 860-868-3103)
- Permits will be issued to residents only for the property on which they reside. Permits will not be issued for land clearing if there is no residence on the property.
- Permit is issued for the burning of brush only. Brush is considered branches or cuttings (no leaves) fewer than three (3) inches in diameter. Anything larger is illegal to burn. ALL processed wood is illegal to burn regardless of placement in a barrel or otherwise.
- Brush piles should be no larger than 5 feet wide x 10 feet long x 5 feet high.
- Burning must be conducted between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on a sunny to partly sunny day with a wind speed no less than 5 mph and no greater than 15 mph.
- Burning must NOT take place (a) during an advisory of threatening atmospheric conditions or any other air pollution emergency episode or (b) during a period when forest fire danger is high or extreme if the open burning is within 100 feet of a woodland or a grassland adjacent to a woodland.
- No objectionable odors or excessive smoke may be created. All reasonable measures to assure complete combustion are to be taken.
- All safety precautions are to be taken -- including the clearing of grass and trees, wetting down of the surrounding areas and placing fire extinguishers.
- Burning permit must be available at all times at the site of the burn.
- Burning must cease if so directed by the Open Burning Official, Fire Marshall, Fire or Police Department Officer or any DEP official.
- Fire must be tended to at all times until it is completely extinguished.
- Burning without a permit is illegal.
- Burning after hours is illegal.
Burning without a Permit is considered a criminal act and may be punishable by fine or arrest. The Burning Official may revoke any permit or add conditions if circumstances indicate.